Beauty of the Beast

41MsK3smTgL._SX322_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

The cover of this book is perfection. I can’t get enough of it. Also, the fact that this is a sort of a Beauty and the Beast retelling (with a vampire twist), makes Beauty of the Beast by Viktoria Faust an incredibly intoxicating read. Beauty and the Beast is one of my all time favorite Disney movies, and though this book is definitely not Disney quality at all, it is still such a great story that really captures what the original fairy tale is all about.

In war torn Croatia in 1992, Viktoria finds a group of vampires that she finds very intriguing. Spending time with vampires if frowned upon, and though they are scary she still likes to watch them and interact with them as much as she can. One day one of the vampires attacks her, and Viktoria eventually becomes quite ill. She first thinks that she has contracted HIV from the vampire, but soon finds out something completely different.

This novel is sinister, dark, and very very mysterious. I loved that I thought it was going one way one minute, and then it took a turn I wasn’t expecting. One of the biggest critiques I have for this book, is that there are grammatical errors in it due to the fact that it has been translated from another language.

I think a lot of us have become immune to vampire books, especially now a days, but give this one a chance because it doesn’t have the usual frilliness and teen-bopper atmosphere that a lot of the new vampire books have. Though I wouldn’t necessarily gravitate to this genre of book on my own, I really thought it was an interesting book. I give it 4 out of 5 stars and I was asked to review this book in exchange for an honest review.

2 thoughts on “Beauty of the Beast

Leave a Reply

