If Only

Indie Author News - If Only - Norma Budden.jpg

This book is a little bit of an enigma to me. If Only by Norma Budden is a tremendously goo story, but the writing in the book is lacking. This story involves a woman who gave her child up for adoption when she was a teenager. Now that she is an adult, she wants to find her baby. In doing so, she needs the help of a private investigator. The private investigator is actually the baby’s father…and he didn’t know that she had ever been pregnant.

Sounds incredible right? Well, it actually is a very very good story. I just felt like everything was so smushed together that it got confusing at times. I had a hard time deciphering which person was speaking, who’s narrative I was reading, and whether or not the people were talking to each other or just to themselves. Not only that, but there was a LOT of reiterations. I don’t know how many times I read that someone pinched the bridge of their nose. It got to the point where I couldn’t take it anymore and had to set the book down.

Aside from being badly written, the story was really heart felt, heart wrenching and real. We all have secrets, and sometimes our secrets effect other people in ways that we don’t even realize. This is a story that could have been full of potential, but I just felt like I couldn’t connect because of the way that it felt so rushed. This book needs serious editing and proof reading. Once it gets there, it will be a best seller. I give this book 3 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

