Sit, Stay, Love

51nVOD-Wt4L._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Sit, Stay, Love by Dana Mentink is a contemporary romance about a man, a woman and an octogenarian dog. Cal Crawford is as pro baseball player, and he also seems to be a bit uptight and cold hearted. When he inherits his mothers dog after her death, he can’t be bothered to take care of it (I mean really? What an ass). So he hires a woman to do the dirty dog work for him. Enter Gina, a former school teacher turned dog caregiver after she accidentally loses a kindergartener and promptly loses her job.

As you can guess, when Gina and Cal meet, they do not like each other from the very beginning. Eventually, the walls surrounding Cal start to come down, and the two start to see each other in a different light. It’s the same story we’ve heard a hundredd times, and I literally was so over this book from about the third chapter that I don’t even know how I finished it, or what else to say about it. Gina teaches Cal about life and love, and how God blesses us with many things, sometimes they are disguised. Cal teaches Gina about his world of baseball.

The idea of this book is beautiful, how an old dog can bring two people together. The only thing is, I’ve read this book a million times before and there was nothing new in this one that set it apart from others, or sparked my interest in any way, shape or form, so I just don’t know. I was bored to tears and slowly worked my way through it while I tried not to fall asleep. I give this book 1 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

