Bird Box

51md5T16SkL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Why did it take me so long to read this book? I originally downloaded this from the Kindle lending library more than a year ago, and I eventually had to give it up in exchange for another book because I never got to it. Then I kept hearing people talk about it, and I had to download it from my local library where I finally started to read it. And, I was hooked from the first page. I flipped through this book all day, it took me less than 24 hours to read it, because I was on a mission to find the answers I was looking for.

Bird Box by Josh Malerman is a psychological thriller/monster thriller/apocalypse type of book with a twist. Nobody in the book can see the monster, so they have no idea what it is. This monster makes you harm others, and kill yourself, if you ever view it. So, all the characters in the book wear blindfolds in order to survive their day to day lives.

Malorie is the main character in this book, and it follows her from the beginning of this terrifying creature, or whatever it is, to the present where she is taking her two children up the river to get to a sanctuary. Malorie was just an ordinary young woman on the verge of finding a job after college, when people all over the world started dying from their own hands. That’s when the news broke out that there was something out there to be very very afraid of, and all the windows and doors started shutting, covered, and no one went outside.

Through out her journey, Malorie meets many people that she tries to trust, and some may break that trust, and others may end up harming themselves, but she learns a lot of lessons about this new way of life. The most interesting part of the book, and the part that had my heart hammering in my chest, was her blindfolded journey on a river with her two children. She has trained her four year old children all their lives, to listen to what may be there that they can’t see, because they have to wear blindfolds. The two kids, Boy and Girl, have become quite versed in hearing things that others normally wouldn’t. The ability of this author to create a terrifying world with out even being able to describe it is just amazing. I was hypnotized by this book, and on my toes the entire time. I give this book 5 out of 5 stars, and many more.

Leave a Reply

