Eleanor

1430192490550

This was one of those books that was an enigma to me. Eleanor by Jason Gurley is almost an unexplainable story. Eleanor was a twin, and her twin Esmerelda sadly passed away in an accident when the girls were just six years old. After the tragedy, their mother went into a deep depression, and their father left.

Fast forward a little over ten years, and Eleanor’s mother is still in her depression, drinking every night and not taking care of Eleanor as she should. Eleanor’s father tries to be there for her, but Eleanor knows she needs to be there for her mom. No one has gotten over the loss of Esmerelda, and no one ever will.

Due to the fact that Eleanor has had to grow up and sort of take on the parent role, she loses touch with reality. The first time this happens, she is at school and as soon as she walks through a doorway, she ends up in a cornfield in the middle of nowhere. When she gets back to the school, miraculously the time has flown, and she now has long hair where she should have short.

As we see many different points of view in this story, it seems that the store gets more and more confusing. I thought this book was written very beautifully, and it had such great detail that it came to life before my eyes. The only thing is, I think I just generally have a hard time with time travel and dimension travel because I just can’t stop scientifically thinking about it, and it doesn’t make sense to me. So, when reading this book I just kept asking myself “how” and enjoying the story became second to that. I think that if you are a fantasy fan, or like books like A Wrinkle in Time or the movie Tomorrowland, or even Interstellar this would be right up your alley.

I’m not saying this is a bad book, it’s actually quite beautiful, it was just hard for me to wrap my head around it. I give this book 4 out of 5 stars, purely for the impeccable writing and incredible descriptions of Eleanor’s world.

3 thoughts on “Eleanor

  1. I have tried to read books that deal with time travel and I never really started liking the time travel aspect. And not even because of scientific reasons, I just always found it a little irritating… Weird brain 🙂
    But the book sounds interesting, nice review 🙂 One can never fault beautifully written books with quality.

    Like

    1. I always have an issue with time travel in books because it just doesn’t make sense to me. This book was no exception, but it was still interesting even though I was going “huh?” half the time lol

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah, the “huh?” part is a given with time travel plots. It’s a shame really… I tried reading the Clockwise book series by Elle Strauss and it has so many different things happening in present and where ever the character was travelling with various subplots that I found myself thinking- well… the subplots themselves could be broken down into separate books and have no time travel included and they’d be great! Ah… good to know I’m not the only one with the same issue though 🙂 I thought I was being too picky.

        Like

Leave a Reply

