My Best Friend’s Exorcism

cover77536-medium.png

Before I say anything else, let me just say it really loud for you, ready? I’m yelling: I LOVED THIS FREAKIN BOOK!!! Okay, now back to the review. My Best Friend’s Exorcism by Grady Hendrix is the perfect mix of funny fiction, and a terrifying horror story. Set in the 80’s it will bring back a lot of nostalgia for older readers, and show younger readers what it was like growing up in the world before texting and snap chat. Beyond that, this book will give you chills up and down your spine, and have you gripping your cross and holy water.

Abby didn’t have a lot of friends growing up, so when Gretchen came to her E.T. themed birthday party in 5th grade, their friendship was sealed tight from that point on. In high school, they formed a group with a couple of other girls, Glee and Margaret. One night the group of friends decide to drop acid while hanging out near the woods. It seemed like the acid wasn’t working, but as soon as Gretchen gets naked and runs off into he wilderness, the girls think that maybe she is having a bad trip. They search for her for hours, but come up empty handed. Eventually she shows up as if nothing is wrong, and the girls recount their tale to her, to which Gretchen doesn’t really seem to be that bothered by.

After a couple of days, Abby starts to notice that Gretchen is acting very odd. She’s not showering, she hasn’t changed her clothes in days, and not only that but she is starting to treat everyone different. She gives Margaret a diet supplement that seems to be helping her lose weight, until it starts to make her incredibly sick, and she is forcing Glee into a serious stalker relationship with one of the teachers at school. All while Abby watches from the sideline. No one seems to believe Abby when she tries to tell them that Gretchen isn’t herself, even when even weirder things start to happen.

Gretchen even starts to push Abby out of their group of friends, making everyone else believe that she is actually the cause of the problems in their friendship. When an exorcist comes to the girls’ school to talk at an assembly, he claims he can see the demon living inside of Gretchen. Abby doesn’t take this lightly, and enlists his help to try and get her friend back, even if it is going to cost her everything she has worked so hard for.

After a long reading slump, where I felt like I was reading only mediocre books, I really needed this book in my life. It was phenomenal. At times it was light hearted and made me laugh, and at other points it made me want to turn all the lights on in my house, jump under my covers and wail. I give this book 5 out of 5 stars, and then some.

5 thoughts on “My Best Friend’s Exorcism

Leave a Reply

