With Malice

26153925.jpg

With Malice by Eileen Cook is considered a young adult book, which sort of put me off, then it was compared to We Were Liars, which I absolutely hated. So, going into this book I was really afraid it was going to be terrible-and I also had a feeling that it was going to be filled with an onslaught of political jargon that I just didn’t want to read. What I found in this book was the complete opposite! The book was really easy to read, enjoyable, and the main character Jill was snarky, fun to read, and she made me want to give her a hug.

Jill wakes up after three days of being asleep, and when she wakes up she realizes that she is in a hospital with no recollection of how she got there. Eventually the story unfolds, and she finds out that she was in a car accident while over in Italy, and that accident killed her best friend, Simone. Not only does she have to deal with the death of her best friend, she is also being told that everyone thinks she killed Simone in that car accident on purpose.

To top it all off, Jill cannot remember any of this, she can’t even remember going to Italy-which was one of her dreams. So, she feels like she is under attack, when she doesn’t even know the whole story. As the story unfolds, we get to find out what really happened in Italy at the same time as Jill. There are secrets and new facts revealed in each chapter, and we get to see how different people viewed Jill and Simone, and how peoples perspectives of the same event can be different depending on who they liked more, who they talked to, and so on. I don’t want to give much more of the plot, because I thought it was really fun to unfold it on my own!

Not only was the book very interesting, but there was different media to read, for example there were interviews with police, website information, Facebook comments and so on. It’s a really quick read, that I read in a day. The only thing that I didn’t really like about it was how quickly the ending came. I feel it could have been spread out longer to really grab the reader, but all in all this book was fantastic. I give it 4 out of 5 stars.

10 thoughts on “With Malice

  1. You’ve definitely got me curious to read this book, especially for the European setting and how the story is told through different media.–and of course the intriguing premise. Thanks for the recommendation.

    Like

  2. Great review! I’d heard of this book but was also put off by the comparisons to other books that I’d not particularly liked but your review has made me want to read this now. I’m going to add it to my wish list now so I can buy it once it’s released. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

