Do You Believe?-Movie Review

857533003912-2

The wonderful people at Fish Flix asked if I would be interested in reviewing one of the movies that they offer on their site. Since it is a Christian movie site, I had a little bit of apprehension. I didn’t want to watch a movie filled to the brim with bible verses, moral dilemmas and other religious things that I am just not comfortable with. I had heard of Do You Believe from watching previews and I also had the book. I figured this would be a great middle of the road movie for me, since I had the book I figured I could tie the two together and it would be wonderful.

As you may have seen yesterday, I read the book and I didn’t care for it that much. It was a decent read, but it lacked something that I can’t quite put my finger on. When I watched the movie, I felt like I was going to feel that same lack of connection, but I actually didn’t. From the beginning it was so much better than the book, I was able to visually see how the characters intertwined and how their stories came together. In the book, it was hard to picture that because you couldn’t see the other people in the background and know that they were there.

This movie is about many different people, who all are going through tough times. There is an older couple who is dealing with the loss of their daughter, a pregnant homeless teenager, a soldier that has come back from war and is trying to acclimate to this civilian lifestyle, theres a minister, a robber, and a dying man. There are so many people in this story, and the way that their stories connect is so powerful. When the clergyman gets asked a question, “Do you believe in the cross of Christ?” He realizes that even if he does, not showing it is one of the biggest problems of the Christian faith. So, he goes on this long journey to re-accustom himself and his church goers with the cross and what it stands for.

All in all, this was a really powerful movie with a great message. I loved that the characters all interacted and they all had issues that they needed to solve. I think this is the first time in a long time that I will say the movie is better than the book! I give this movie 4 out of 5 stars, and I really appreciate the opportunity to watch it and review it, it was very fun.

Leave a Reply

