It’s Okay to Laugh

y450-293.png

If you are a woman who just lost your baby, your father, and your husband in one fell swoop, and are still able to write a hilariously charming and heartbreaking memoir, then I have to say that you Nora McInerny Purport are one strong woman. It’s Okay to Laugh (Crying is Cool Too), is the story of Nora, her husband Aaron, their family and their journey through brain cancer, death and much more.

I’m not joking when I say that I cracked up many times while reading this book, and not because I am a terribly mean person with no soul. This book was written to be funny despite the hard and sad focus of the memoir. Nora has a sharp tongue and I really think she might need to go into stand up comedy, even though there are some really sad moments in this book, I still found her writing was hitting punch lines like no ones business.

Nora met Aaron, and they fell in love like most people do, but unlike other people they found out early in their relationship that Aaron had a brain tumor, this event sort of took their relationship on a spiral on the up and up, and they got married and had a baby with in a few short years. While they felt that their family was beautiful, they didn’t feel that it was complete. They got pregnant again, and unfortunately that pregnancy didn’t see full term. This was devastating of course, and it seemed that their lives were going over the hump of the rollercoaster at this moment because after losing their baby, Nora lost her father a week later. To add to that, Aaron passed away just one month later. Talk about a buzzkill.

This memoir chronicles the before and afters and in betweens of Aaron and Nora’s love story, and about their son’s love for poopy balls (yeah, read the book). I just got a really big kick out of this book, and even though it left tears in my eyes, sometimes it was from crying and sometimes it was from laughing too hard. I caught myself reading lines from this book to my own husband, just so he could share in the hilariousness. I think that this book could give a lot of people courage to still find the fun in life after so much tragedy, so please go get this book! I give it 5 out of 5 stars.

3 thoughts on “It’s Okay to Laugh

Leave a Reply

