I Wish I Could Remember You

thumbnail_I_Wish_I_Could_Remember_You_-_Ebook

I Wish I Could Remember You by L.J. Epps was sent to me in exchange for an honest review. I believe that this book is a debut novel for the author, and the concept of this book really struck my interest. A woman going through a divorce, who already has another boyfriend, gets into a terrible car accident that wipes her memory. This means she can’t remember how abusive her husband was, that he cheated on her, or even that they were in the middle of a terrible divorce. She also doesn’t remember her boyfriend, and all of the love that they shared.

Emily has always wanted to find love, and have a romantic whirlwind life with a man. That man, she thought, was her husband-but he ended up treating her like crap, so much so that she filed for divorce. In the midst of her terrible divorce, one that her husband doesn’t want to get, Emily finds another love named Robert. He actually is the man of her dreams, and she has finally found happiness.

That is until she gets into a bad accident, and her memory gets erased. Now Stephen, her soon to be ex husband, wants Emily to believe that their lives were perfect and that there was never going to be a divorce. On the flip side Robert is trying to remind Emily of how much they loved each other. Emily doesn’t know who to believe or where to turn, and now she has to start over from scratch.

The premise of this book sounded so interesting to me, but the book itself fell flat. The characters had no depth, and the writing was stunted. For a debut novel it was alright, but honestly I wish it had some more heart to it. I give it 3 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

