Man, Myth, Messiah

medias.jpeg

If you have followed my blog for some time, you know that I am the type of person that likes to question everything, and you know that I have this sort of disconnect with religion. This means that I like to find books that give concrete examples, research, and answers. I thought that this book Man, Myth, Messiah by Rice Broocks would be a great start to finding answers about Jesus Christ, and to finally put into words the concrete information that I need. I received this book from Booklook Bloggers, which is a site that has many religious and spiritual books. I thought this book would be interesting because I really enjoyed the movie God’s Not Dead, and I saw that this one influenced the movie God’s Not Dead 2. Heres why I didn’t like this book at all.

I know in my mind that Jesus existed, and I know he was raised from the dead and all the other good stuff that happened all those years ago. What this book claims, is that it will give me even more solid information about the man we have come to know as the Son of God. This book claims that it has answers to our questions about whether he existed, and it also has proof that Jesus is a part of our historical world.

That’s all fine and dandy and I was ready to read some really good, researched, paper on that as well as other questions being answered. What I got was a jumble of bible verses, reiterations of parts of the bible that I already know, and information that could easy be taken from the bible. What I am trying to say is that Mr. Broocks didn’t do any research, didn’t take any time to actually try and find answers with scientific reason, instead he perused the bible to try and connect the dots. We in the psychology field (heh) call this confirmation bias. This means that the author used a book that he already knew would give him the answers he so seeked, and didn’t do any other research (as far as I can tell) that would support his theory.

There has been no time in my college education, or even before that, where I was allowed to use one reference when it came to doing a research paper. If I used one book to explain all of my theories and ideas, but never cross referenced any other historical book or website or anything-how would I know I’m right? Broocks uses faith and the already known stories from the bible to put his faith in the word that Jesus existed. Okay, this is fine, but to have written an entire book claiming that you have proof he existed. This just doesn’t rub me the right way at all. I feel like he took the easy way out, and used the bait and switch method for this book. Sorry Mr. Broocks but this wasn’t your best shot, and I definitely lost some respect for you here.

If this book was put into the hands of a non-believer, or someone who isn’t sure what they believe, the book isn’t going to be taken seriously, nor will it be considered “historically accurate”. I don’t like when books like this say they are going to destroy the myth, yet use words from the bible which is one of the most ridiculed books in the world. To anyone buying this book for answers, they are only going to get bible verses spit at them in little increments. You are better off seeking out the Holy Bible instead of this. Don’t buy this book, it’s just pointless to read. I give this book 1 out of 5 stars. Can I give a zero?

Leave a Reply

