Forever Beach

cover-forever-beach.jpg

This was totally my type of book! I really felt a Jodi Picoult and Diane Chamberlain vibe with this one, and they are two of my favorite authors. Forever Beach by Shelley Noble is the first book I ever read by Noble, and to be honest I am so happy that I got a chance to read this book because it was awesome. It’s the perfect summer time book, and it just kept me on the edge of my seat. I think that I will go and find more Shelley Noble books after reading this one!

After living in foster care for almost her entire life, Sarah knows how hard it can be to go from home to home, family to family, and when you find someone that truly loves you-you want to stay with them forever. Sarah is now the foster mother to a four year old named Leila, who she has taken care of for a couple of years and absolutely adores her as if she were her own child. Leila has just gotten situated in her new home, and now that she has become acclimated to her new life, her bio mother wants her back. That means that Sarah has to go along with the visitations, even though she doesn’t want to at all. Every time that Leila’s mother has gotten visitation in the past, she has ruined it some how by hurting Leila, which took all the progress Leila has made completely away.

Sarah has to figure out how she is going to keep Leila away from her bio mom before she hurts Leila even more. She is trying to adopt Leila, but the courts keep making more and more visitations possible for Leila’s bio mother. It’s killing Sarah to watch her daughter regress, and it’s the saddest thing she has ever seen. She’s been there and understands how hard it is on the children in these situations.

On top of all of this, Sarah’s friends are going through their own complicated messes. The story follows them as well, and it shows how friends can become family, and how support and confidence is what we need to get by in this world. The only person that I didn’t really care for in this book was Sarah’s on again off again boyfriend Wyatt. I really felt like the romantic relationship was just sort of thrown into the story, and it wasn’t necessary at all. Wyatt seemed like an asshole to be honest, he kept making these off hand remarks about Sarah, and kept hanging out with some other chick-it just rubbed me the wrong way.

Other than that little tidbit, I really liked the little twists that were thrown into the story every once in a while, and I really liked how I had no clue what was going to happen with Sarah and Leila. This was a heart pounding book, and although I had an ARC copy that had quite a bit of typos I could look past that and really get into the story. I give this book 4 out of 5 stars.

2 thoughts on “Forever Beach

Leave a Reply

