My Husband’s Son

918qLB2pQ1L.jpg

My Husband’s Son by Deborah O’Connor is a new psychological thriller that had me questioning who to trust from the very beginning of the novel. It was one of those books that everything seems to be shrouded in secrets, and the characters all seem to be keeping certain things close to their chest, and I got that vibe from the very first chapter.

Heidi and her husband Jason met because they had something in common, both of them have lost their children. Heidi’s daughter was murdered, and Jason’s son has disappeared. It has been a few years for both, and even though Heidi has come to terms with the loss of her daughter, it’s hard for Jason to because he isn’t sure if his son is still alive out there, or if he has been murdered as well.

The simple fact that neither Heidi nor Jason know what happened to Jason’s son Barney, means that they see him, they see him in every little boy that has blond hair and is about eight years old. This means that they always second guess when they see a little boy walking down the street or playing in the park. Then one day Heidi swears up and down that she’s found Barney. She quickly takes Jason there and Jason says that it’s not his son, he would know if that was his son. Though Jason tells Heidi to put her idea to rest, she continues to search where she found this boy, and continues to dig into the mystery.

The weird thing is, Jason doesn’t really seem to be physically searching for his son, which makes me think that he might have had something to do with his disappearance, or he knows more than he is saying. That was the vibe I got through out this entire book, because Jason would leave randomly, or would appear all of a sudden. The truth comes out eventually, and it will stop you in your tracks.

This book was clearly made for someone like me, who loves a mystery and loves a psychological thriller. It plays mind games that you aren’t even aware of, and I absolutely loved every minute of it. The only critique I could really say is that at some points it was so slow that I found my eyes going cross because I was tired of reading about mundane things. If you can get past that, you will really enjoy this book. I give it 4 out of 5 stars. I received this book from Netgalley.

Leave a Reply

