A World Between

41typCk41jL._SX323_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

A World Between by Robert M. Herzog is a science fiction/philosophy book that I was a little bit afraid to read. I received this book from a blogger program that I trust, so I figured I would give it a try. Though at times I was intimidated by the sheer amount of physics and scientific jargon that was in the book, it still had an interesting premise that might just put this book on the top of your reading list.

Parts of the Earth are disappearing and no one knows why or where they are going. At first, it seems like there are parts of the world that no one seems to care about, and then when it becomes more apparent that popular parts of the world are disappearing as well, people start to get concerned. After multiple disappearances or voids, the whole reality of life on Earth is in question. Not only on a human level, but also scientifically. If the foundation of the world disappears, how will the world stay in orbit or continue to exist?

Although this book is chocked full of science, philosophy and life altering questions I also found it to be quite intriguing. It actually took me a while to get through, just because it was a dense book (not the content so much as words per page, it felt like there were a million), but reading it made me actually question myself and the world around me.

First we meet Susan, who works in Africa to bring food to hungry people, she notices this intense nothingness in the forest that cannot be explained. Then three children see the same type of void in New York, but whose going to believe three kids? After these voids continue to grow, people start to get scared and wonder why is this happening Is it Aliens, or God, or the end of the Universe?

The plot and idea of this book are extravagant and entertaining but the long jabberings about quantum physics got a little out of line (for me anyway). I tried not to fall asleep a few times, but if you can get passed that, this is a great book and I think science fiction readers will enjoy it. I give this book 4 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

