The Blondes

9781250081698_p0_v3_s192x300.jpg

The Blondes by Emily Schultz is a satirical novel about the price of beauty, how something we consider beauty in the world could end up being the reason for the deadliest virus known to man. The zombie apocalypse books for blondes, if you will. When I saw this book in a literary magazine a couple of months ago, as a blonde, I knew I had to read it. I contacted the publisher, and they were kind enough to send me a copy in exchange for an honest review, so here we go.

Hazel is living in a hotel, she’s also just graduated from college, and recently found out that she was pregnant. By her professor. Who happens to be married. If that isn’t the worst thing that could possibly happen, just wait. There’s also a virus exploding around the world that seems to target people with blonde hair, whether it’s dyed or natural it doesn’t matter. The virus takes over the victims brain and makes them attack other people, almost like a zombie, which eventually kills them. This isn’t just happening in New York where Hazel lives, but it has spread through out the world.

Told in story form, with Hazel either writing or recording her story to her unborn child, we see three different timelines almost happening simultaneously. This could be a bit confusing, but it’s actually not! It creates this never ending story that you can’t quite understand until the very end.

The only thing that I wish happened in this book was more action! I felt like I was reading so much on the outside of the action, and nothing was really happening to Hazel directly, that it seemed kind of lackluster. Not that I want her to die or anything, I just wanted something crazy to happen, and it seemed like it never did. So with that said, this was a very cool idea for a book, but it sort of didn’t play out as badass as I was hoping. I give this book 3 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

