Thirty Days to Thirty

thirty days to thirtynewcover.png

So, I’m going to be 30 in January 2017- so I have a  little more than thirty days till I’m thirty, but I figured this book would be right up my alley. Thirty Days to Thirty by Courtney Psak is a contemporary novel that is full of laughter and one woman’s insecurities about not having the things in life she thought she would have accomplished by the time she was thirty years old. Being almost thirty, I can understand how sometimes the things that we have planned for us as teenagers or young 20’s, don’t actually pan out like we think they are going to. I figured I would have three kids, be a college graduate and have a nice job by now. I was wrong, but I still have accomplished very much in my life so far.

Anywho, enough about me. This book was quite hilarious and made me feel a little bit better about myself despite being at the main character, Jill’s, demise. Jill got fired from her job at a law firm, and found out her boyfriend was cheating on her all in the same day. So, she packs up her stuff and heads home to her parents house. Her old bedroom is still the way she left it all those years ago, and her parents are still driving her crazy like she’s in high school.

In her haste to clean her room, and throw away all her old memories, Jill finds a list of  things she wanted to accomplish before she turned thirty, that she wrote in high school for a project. Reading the list, she realizes she has accomplished maybe one or two things, if you consider the fact that she no longer has a job as an accomplishment.

Enlisting her friend Liz, and her high school ex boyfriend Chris, Jill is on her way to accomplishing all of those things in the month until her 30th birthday. Not only will she have to kiss a stranger, but she will have to ride a roller coaster and learn a foreign language. It’s a huge feat, but with the help of her best friend and her possible love interest, she feels like she can get it done.

This was just a cute story, there wasn’t anything in the book that was overly surprising or new to me. I liked reading it because I could relate to Jill, and I thought she was very funny,  other than that this was just a run of the mill contemporary. I give this book 4 out of 5 stars. I received this book from Netgalley.

Leave a Reply

