Beneath the Apple Blossom

thumbnail_BTAB_eB_cov_FINAL.jpg

Following the lives of four different families that intertwine, intermingle and influence each other, Beneath the Apple Blossom by Kate Frost is the story of perseverance, hope, and finding strength in the heart of darkness and disappointment. This book is a great story for people around my age, who are looking to start a family, who have a family, or who feel like their lives need a little more drama.

In this novel, there are many sides to one story. All of these characters, Pippa, Connie, Georgie and Sienna, all want something, and the way they go about getting those things may cause heartbreak, tears and ranging emotions. Pippa wants a baby, and going through IVF with her husband has been hell, they keep getting told they are miscarrying, and they keep pushing on. Watching her struggle to conceive was very powerful, and this story actually came to me at a very poignant time in my life. As I’m writing this, I don’t know if I’ve made the official announcement yet on social media (because I write these in advance) but we are expecting another baby. When I first opened this book I was very happy to be “newly pregnant”, aside from all the morning sickness and feeling like death. Then something happened. I started to bleed, it was almost as if my life intertwined with Pippa’s in a way that I never wanted. I had to go to the doctor the next day and he told me there was nothing in the “sac”(where the baby is supposed to be). My husband and I have been trying for quite some time now and although we already have a son, this was devastating news for us. It was almost like we tried and failed again. So my story line could totally parallel Pippa’s in a way. I had to do some blood tests to see if my levels of pregnancy hormones were increasing and to be honest I was scared to death. Long story short everything turned out okay but those waiting moments were the worst.

Then there’s Connie, who Pippa meets on a forum about trying to conceive through IVF, they become fast friends, but what Connie and Pippa don’t know is that her husband is cheating on her with Pippa’s half-sister. That’s just messed up. Connie is struggling to get pregnant because her husband has low sperm count, but he feels like she has given up on him in any way besides getting pregnant. Reading Connie’s story was heartbreaking, knowing that her husband was intimate with another woman while she struggled with sprays and injections. Ugh. What the hell man.

Georgie doesn’t want another baby, she already has a two year old daughter Daisy who is sweet but a handful. She likes her job, and doesn’t want to complicate her life right now. Even though she’s getting pressure from her husband, she feels that she can keep him at bay. That is until she starts to see Felix, Connie’s husband outside of work hours (they work together), and she ends up pregnant by who knows! WHOOPS.

Finally there is Sienna, Pippa’s best friend. She doesn’t want to get married, doesn’t want kids, but yet her boyfriend and her have sex one last time before they break up and bam there she is with child. This is not the news that Sienna wants, and feels that telling Pippa in the midst of her endeavor would crush Pippa’s soul. When Pippa finds out on her own, their friendship hangs on in the balance.

This story was incredibly powerful, it was real and it is a lot of women’s lives. I loved it so much, and wish that everyone would read it. Even if you have no desire to have kids, or aren’t at the age where this is on your radar, pick up this book, it will help you understand how hard it is sometimes for women to have children, and that can be devastating when it’s the only thing in the world that you really want. I give this book 5 out of 5 stars, I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

2 thoughts on “Beneath the Apple Blossom

Leave a Reply

