Black Water Tales: The Unwanted

6565363.jpg

This book was CREEPY. Although Black Water Tales: The Unwanted by JeanNicole Rivers is the second book in a series of creepy tales, it can be read as a stand alone-and let me tell you, it’s so worth it. This book creeped me out so much that I wouldn’t read it when I was home alone, or at night haha. That hasn’t happened in a long time!

Travis and Blaire head to town called Borslav to take part in a care program for orphaned children. The place they arrive in is miserable looking. It’s freezing cold, there’s nothing around that could be of any interest to them, and basically they are going to be stuck in this town for however long with just each other as company. At the orphanage, Travis and Blaire are taken back by the condition of the place as well as the children. The home that they live in is deplorable, and the children are malnourished and sick looking.

Soon, the two realize that although they are taking care of the children, new bruises and other physical issues with the children keep happening. Things keep getting worse to the point where they are hearing scary sounds from the basement, creepy scratches and whispered threats, this means that they have to figure out what is going on right? (This is where I needed to read with the lights on).

One of the things that creeped me out the most was the fact that the children had little rhymes that were seriously scary and made me want my mommy. This book totally sucked me in, and the fact that every chapter was left on a cliff-hanger meant that I couldn’t put it down. If you are looking for a super creepy novel, that is full of suspense, definitely check this one out. I give this book 4 out of 5 stars. I only took away one star, because it took me a while to get into the book-it was slow to begin. I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

6 thoughts on “Black Water Tales: The Unwanted

Leave a Reply

