This is Not My Beautiful Life

26114599.jpg

Imagine being nine months pregnant, waddling down the stairway to answer the ringing doorbell in the middle of the night. Now imagine, that you open the door and a bunch of DEA agents start tumbling inside, mumbling about how they have to search your parents home for drugs. Sounds crazy right? Well just crazy enough to be true. This actually happened to Victoria Fedden in the memoir This is Not My Beautiful Life. That and many more outrageous occurrences happen to Victoria in this book, if you need a good laugh, and to feel like maybe your life isn’t so bad, you should totally read this book.

I don’t even know where to go from there with this book, it’s honestly something that you have to experience yourself. Victoria was 36 when she was living with her parents, who both got arrested and go to prison, she now has to figure out how to walk through life with her child, husband and her felon parents.

Victoria’s childhood seemed to have been almost as outrageous and difficult as her adulthood. Her mother was a teenager when Victoria was born, which set off a railroad of hard living situations and times when her parents didn’t really seem to care where she was. That, and the fact that her father pretty much abandoned her when she was eleven years old, makes for some good therapy talk.

Hilariously inconvenient, and almost unrealistic, this book was so funny and the fact that the author went into so much detail about her feelings toward birth, motherhood, and beyond, made it so much more fun for me. I needed this book just so I could say my life isn’t so bad. I don’t want to give away too much, because this is a book you need to experience for yourself, but I definitely could see this becoming a television show or movie sometime soon. Actually, I’m hoping for that. I give this book 4 out of 5 stars. I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

One thought on “This is Not My Beautiful Life

Leave a Reply

