Off the Bookcase-July 2016 Part 2

offthebookcase

Hey guys! So, I’m back with the next installment of the Off the Bookcase for July. I read the books and now I want to tell you about them.

First let me remind you of the books I picked for this month:

The-Rosie-Projectthe-rosie-effect

I chose The Rosie Project and The Rosie Effect by Graeme Simsion. These books have been on my shelf for a while, and I have been really excited to read them. I finally picked them up because I was looking for something light hearted, plus I have heard so much about these books, I wanted to get a taste of them.

To be honest these books were different than I thought they were going to be. When I first heard about these books, I don’t know why, but I assumed they were about teenagers. Actually, The Rosie Project follows a college professor named Don, who is quite methodical in his life. He is very specific about everything, and has a lot of tendencies that are congruent to Aspergers. If he is even a minute late in what he expects to be doing, it throws him off balance. He even goes so far as to create a questionnaire in order to find a suitable wife.

All of that seems to not matter after he meets Rosie, though he tries to help her find her real father, he’s also courting her in a way. He likes her, but he doesn’t like the fact that she is completely wrong for him. The two are opposites, but yet they connect on another level.

In The Rosie Effect we see what happens after Don proposes to Rosie. I felt like this was rushed, and I didn’t get a good idea about what happened after the first book ended. It all starts with them moving to New York and starting their life together, but I felt this sort of disconnect that I can’t explain. All in all I really enjoyed the first book, but the second book bored me, and I felt that the author was trying to make these insane situations just to create more buzz about the characters.

I give the first book 4 out of 5 stars, and the second book gets 2 out of 5 stars. I could barely finish the second book because it was so boring and outrageous.

Well that’s all for this edition of Off the Bookcase, did you enjoy these books? If you did, let me know! If you read them and didn’t like them, tell me why 🙂

One thought on “Off the Bookcase-July 2016 Part 2

  1. The Rosie Project has been on my wishlist for a while but I haven’t picked it yet. Your post reminded me I had plans to read it! I am glad you enjoyed it. I heard mixed opinions about the second one, maybe that’s why I’ve been putting them off.

    Like

Leave a Reply

