In Twenty Years

51iNY+plaLL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

This book, In Twenty Years, I believe is my first experience with an Allison Winn Scotch novel. The premise of this book just made me feel all warm and fuzzy inside, and that’s one of the major reasons why I wanted to read it. A group of friends that hung out together in college write notes to themselves in twenty years and leave them somewhere. Eighteen years later, the core member of the group has passed away, and in her will she asks the remaining five to head to the house that they shared together in college to reconnect and finally read the letters that they wrote all those years ago.

This sounds like such a sweet, compassionate story, and it was. The only problem was that it kept popping back and forth in time with no sense of where the past ended and the future began. I could be reading a story and then all of a sudden the group was in a bar. I’m asking myself what just happened? Did they time travel? There were no line breaks or any indication of a story being told. I was getting confused.

Besides that fact, there was so much drivel in this book that my eyes were crossing all on their own. I don’t know why but I HATE when books give you so much information about a scene or a character that the reason for the scene gets lost in all the extra attention to detail. I can’t stand when authors write like that, and unfortunately that’s exactly what Scotch does.

I wish I could tell you what happened in this book, but I’m not entirely sure. I know all the friends meet in their old house, some old emotions and rivalries are stirred up, and they fight, get back together, and some other stuff happens. However, I can tell you that one of the girl’s had a Ralph Lauren comforter, because that’s what’s really important! I understand setting the scene and creating a backstory for your characters, but the way this droned on was a little tool much.

This is a good book if you want to spend a week knowing what people are wearing and doing, and how their home looks, if you want a good story that is captivating and filled with emotion, this may be one to skip. I would try another Scotch book because maybe this was a fluke, but I have a feeling all of her novels drone on. I give this book 2 out of 5 stars. I received this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

One thought on “In Twenty Years

  1. I have this on my Kindle. I think it was a Kindle First freebie. I’m not sure I want to read it now. It sounded so interesting, but I’m not keen on knowing every detail of everyone’s outfits and possessions, as it sounds like filler to me. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

