Roughing It

Roughing_It_large

Let me preface this by saying that the cover does not go with the book at all, apparently this story was a part of another collection of stories that was titled “Men at Work”, so it’s just a random picture- that I’m honestly not too impressed with BUT the story Roughing It by Elizabeth Black was pretty good, so don’t judge!

Also, this is a short story around 30 pages or so, so it’s a quick read and something a little different than what I’m used to. There is an outbreak of some type of disease that causes different reactions to different people, and while two friends/lovers are investigating the cause of this outbreak at a campground, they find themselves in a little bit of trouble.

Jake and Lance are microbiologists that work hard at what they do, they also play hard. The outbreak has started reeking havoc on the campground, and has killed four people already.  There is another person that has come down with the illness, but it seems to have increased her sex drive instead of kill her, which could be fun until she attacks her best friends husband. Now Jake and Lance are starting to feel a little ill, and hope they can figure out what’s going on before they succumb to their illnesses.

Like I said, this is pretty much border line on the type of genre I like to read, so I had to take out my logical brain and put in the brain that can make sense of these types of stories. It definitely is different, and can be either too out there or just the right amount depending on who you are.

Okay, I know that sounds weird, but it’s definitely a sexy/erotica type of story. It’s short, but it’s also wildly entertaining. I had fun reading it, and it didn’t take much time to read. Although, I do think in order to be more detailed and make more sense it should have been a little longer. I give this story 3 out of 5 stars. I received this from the author in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

