Getting Through What You Can’t Get Over

22928694.jpg

With the help of psalms from the bible, real life experiences and wise words, Anita Agers-Brooks creates an astounding view on coping, healing, and faith in the self-help style book Getting Through What You Can’t Get Over.

Not only does Anita tell stories from her own life, but she also tells stories from people she has met through out her career. She gives tips at the end of every inspiring chapter, that can be put to good use, from emotional healing to things as simple as drinking more water. There is something for everyone in this book, and there are many different stories about different hurdles that people have had to climb. Anita also adds in a prayer to encourage you to get closer to your spiritual side, that is provided at the end of every chapter.

In this book, you will find many different types of stories to read, such as a chapter on PTSD, a chapter about distant fathers, physical aches and pains and even depression. There is literally a story for everyone, because Anita knows that people go through different things, and there are often a lot of things that we cannot understand how to get through. Well all have our inner demons, and things that we cannot seem to get over. This book doesn’t necessarily tell us “get over it” or “walk it off”, but it gives us techniques and inspiration to find ways to work through our burdens, and to cope with losses or other ailments that may be weighing us down. In order to live a happy and fulfilling life, we need to get through the things that we can’t seem to get over, and that’s where this book helps out tremendously.

When I cracked this book open, I was not expecting it to help me all that much, I mean how much could I actually need to get over? Truthfully though, the chapter about distant fathers really connected with me, although I thought the depression chapter would be more my style. My father and I have been distant for my entire life, and to the day we do not speak. It’s something that I have struggled with for 20+ years, and it is something that I can’t seem to get over. This book helped me realize what I need to do, and need to feel, in order to work around this obstacle in order to be a wonderful woman and mother to my own children. I give this book 5 out of 5 stars, it was really motivational and I guarantee this book will help lots of people with their inner and outer struggles. I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

4 thoughts on “Getting Through What You Can’t Get Over

  1. Thank you SO much for this amazing review. Your response is exactly why I poured my heart into writing this book, Kerrie.

    There are a lot of hurting people in the world who need hope, I know, because I was one of them at various times during many painful periods. I appreciate your help is sharing a message that I pray inspires and encourages many.

    Like

Leave a Reply

