Saving Sophie

51rxw1asmql

I was hoping that this book would shove me head first into a creepy mystery that I needed to solve, but Saving Sophie by Sam Carrington wasn’t as promising as I thought it was going to be, sadly. At the beginning of the story, we learn that Sophie was out all night drinking with some friends, and the cops picked her up after they found her walking alone early in the morning. The thing is, Sophie says she can’t remember how she got drunk, or how she ended up in the streets alone. Is she lying, or does she really not remember?

When Sophie and her mom Karen find out that Sophie’s good friend Amy hasn’t shown up back home after that same night out, things take a strange turn. It seems that it’s possible Sophie does know more than she is letting on, but is it enough to bring Amy back home? Is Sophie next on the list of girls to go missing?

Right off the bat I felt that the writing in this book was subpar, it was supposed to be melodic and almost poetry like, but I guess I just don’t like books like that. We Were Liars comes to mind, and I can’t stand that book. I just felt like there were so many holes in this book that couldn’t be filled in, and it just didn’t have the charm that I was looking for.

Although I didn’t like this book much, it doesn’t mean you won’t. Give it a try if it sounds interesting to you, you may get more out of it than I did. I received this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. I give this one out of 5 stars, it’s just not my cup of tea. I’m ready to move on from this book and go in search of something that will fill this void.

2 thoughts on “Saving Sophie

Leave a Reply

