The Dollhouse

cover1000-11-167x250.jpg

The premise of The Dollhouse by Nicole Thorn was completely in my wheelhouse of books that I thoroughly enjoy. A girl gets away from her captor and has to re-enter her regular life, though she isn’t the same, and things have changed around her, she manages to get by even with the nightmare of what happened to her for the past 7 years right behind her eye lids. Then came the insta-love with the boy next door and I wanted to gag. The relationship this girl, Riley, has with her neighbor Wilson is completely and utterly ridiculous…and this made the book completely unreadable for me.

I thought that this book was going to be a psychological thriller, or at least some type of hard hitting psychological book that really got me into the mind of a person who was kidnapped at the age of 12, and was finally free at 19. Instead, I got a book about how no one understands this girl except her unsurprisingly handsome neighbor who knows all the right words, and knows how to coax her to tell him what’s bothering her. *Puke*.

Along those same lines, this book was written very juvenile. I do understand that Riley was taken when she was 12, and kept in an underground home with 3 other girls who didn’t get education and were treated like slave-dolls, so I can see how she could have some mental problems where she isn’t fully up to speed with her peers. Yet, at the same time, she is self-aware of her own problems and knows how to manage her life in ways that I don’t understand. How can she be underdeveloped and yet know all of the right things to do and say with out any prompting? Seems like the author really missed the mark on that one.

If you are looking for a twisted Romeo and Juliet remake, then here is the book for you. Do not grab this up if you think you are going to get a really interesting take on a captor who frees herself and the victims who were imprisoned with her. Maybe the author should do some more research on what happens mentally to people who are kidnapped, either way this book was terrible. I tried my hardest to get through it, but it really wasn’t worth it. I give this book 1 out of 5 stars I received this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

