The Bone Tree

51QarmKc0zL._SX336_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

The Bone Tree by Greg Iles is  one of those types of books that once you open it and really get into the story, it no longer feels like you are reading, but more like watching a movie unfold in front of your eyes. This book is the sequel to Natchez Burning and the third book comes out next year, which will be the finale of the trilogy I do believe.

Penn Cage and his father are in some trouble, because of the mysterious death of one of Tom Cage’s employees, who just so happens to be a black woman. Although Penn and his fiancee thought that their troubles were behind them, it seems that the leader of a KKK sect is after them now and there’s no where else they can turn.

Even though this book is extremely long, it has a lot of feeling, it grips you like a thriller, but tells the story like a Stephen King novel. I absolutely adored this series, and found myself rooting for Penn even though sometimes I wanted to shake him and tell him to figure something else out. Like it’s predecessor, The Bone Tree is a whopping 816 pages, which may be intimidating to a lot of people but it’s honestly such a good book that you won’t even realize you have read 400 pages before long. This is a book that I saw on book store shelves for a long time, and never picked it up for that reason. Thankfully TLC Book Tours was kind enough to send a copy to me, so that I could finally dive in, and it was well worth the wait.

I wish that I could give you a ton more information about this book, but I feel that it’s best to go into it just not knowing or expecting much because you will be able to form your own opinion, have the twists surprise and shock you, and just fulfill your own ride. If you like books like 11/22/63, I really think you will enjoy this series. I know I did. I give this book 5 out of 5 stars. I received this book in exchange for an honest review.

4 thoughts on “The Bone Tree

Leave a Reply

