5 Books I Will Include in Baby’s First Library

My little girl will be here before we know it. I’m already almost 25 weeks along, and have just started collecting all the things that she will need-clothes, furniture, diapers and of course books! Here are 5 books that I am definitely going to make sure are in my daughter’s library when she’s born. Let me know what you think!


C0rduroy

by Don Freeman

91kihzbkcrl

This is one of my favorite children’s books of all time. I have a special place in my heart for it, because it was one of the first books that I ever read by myself as a child. My son has this book, and I recently picked up another copy for my daughter, along with a cute little stuffed Corduroy that I can’t wait for her to hug while we read the book!


The Snowy Day

by Ezra Jack Keats

SnowyDayKeats.jpg

Not only is the story in this book very adorable, the pictures are outstanding. I absolutely love to curl up on a very cold and snowy day and flip through this book with my children.


Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See?

by Bill Martin Jr.

brownbearbrownbearwhatdoyousee

This is another one of those books that I adored growing up, I remember reading it in my kindergarten class and jut being completely mesmerized by the pictures. They definitely are interesting. I haven’t read this book to my son, but when we get it for my daughter I’m sure we can all enjoy it!


Where’s Spot?

by Eric Hill

51tescec1ql

This one right here is my son’s personal favorite, it’s a lift the flap book, but the flaps are all torn off from many reading sessions. I am definitely going to get my daughter a new copy of this, because it’s such a cute and fun story to read.


Imogene’s Antlers

by David Small

51uH9nEGqwL._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

 Yet another one of my childhood favorites. This book is for a little bit older children, but still great to have in the collection! I got this book at a book fair when I was in elementary school and I know that I spent many days reading it and loving it. I am ready to share this story with my children.


Do you have any of these books for your kids, siblings, or even yourself? Do you love them as much as I do? Do you have another other books you would suggest to add to my children’s ever growing library? Let me know in the comments!

5 thoughts on “5 Books I Will Include in Baby’s First Library

  1. Exciting times 🙂 At the moment I’m putting together a little library for my grandson – he’s four and into dinosaurs at the moment but he enjoyed lift the flap and sound books. My favourite is Brother Eagle Sister Sky by Susan Jeffers for when he’s a little older.

    Like

  2. I remember being read ‘Owl Babies’ and ‘The Mousehole Cat’ and then when my brothers and I were a bit older, it was Roald Dahl’s Short Stories (especially The Enormous Crocodile).

    I would definitely recommend The Mousehole Cat (https://www.amazon.co.uk/Mousehole-Cat-Antonia-Barber/dp/0744523532) because it’s a lovely story and it has the most gorgeous illustrations. My cousin’s baby is due beginning of November and I think I’m going to get this book for her baby’s library as well.

    Like

  3. Congratulations, what a wonderful time for you; already a son and your little girl on the way. I was going to suggest The Hungry Caterpillar but I see Megan beat me to it. Another great favourite when our children were little was Dear Zoo, a lovely lift-the-flap book.
    All the very best to you and your family!

    Like

Leave a Reply

