The Girl in 6E-Spookathon 2016

41l2tahewbl-_sy344_bo1204203200_

The Girl in 6E by A.R. Torre was the first book that I read for this years Spookathon read-a-thon. I have heard nothing but great things about this book, how it was thrilling, and mysterious yet erotic and a little disturbing. So, I was all about reading it and seeing what cool and psychotic things I could find between the pages.

Jessica Martin is a cam girl, which is someone who makes money doing naughty things on camera for people over the internet. She’s also a killer and has locked herself in her apartment so she doesn’t hurt anyone anymore. Jessica wasn’t always Jessica either, she used to be Deanna Martin, whose mother killed her entire family. Now she thinks that those murderer traits have been passed down to her.

In between scenes of Jessica doing her cam sessions with random guys on the internet, we learn about her back story, and also about some other young girl who happens to go missing. I guess I just don’t get where all of these stories fit in to make this a really good thriller? I may be with the one percent here but I wasn’t all that impressed with this book. It was intense in the beginning, but then it started to taper off toward the middle. It felt like the author couldn’t decide if she wanted to write an erotic book or a thriller, so she just mashed the two genres together in hopes that it would work out.

Apparently a lot of people like this book, but I felt it was very immature, even though it was well researched. I am definitely not going to continue with this series, but I am happy that I finally got this book off of my bookshelf. I give this book 2 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

