The Low-Pressure Guide to Parenting Your Preschooler

51MDRItpMyL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Maybe I am just being a negative-Nancy about books lately, but I have to say that The Low-Pressure Guide to Parenting Your Preschooler by Tim Sanford, M.A. is probably the most unnecessary parenting book that I have ever read. Since I have a 3 year old, I thought that this book would give me great ideas about helping with tantrums, attitudes, and other overwhelming situations, but instead I got a book full of random ways that you don’t have to feel pressure to be a good parent. What?

One of the things that this book told me was that if my child wants to wear sandals in the winter, I should tell him that he can pick boots or shoes. I mean is this not common sense? I understand the struggles of being a parent of a toddler and a preschooler, they are headstrong and very independent, but also need guidance and discipline in order to understand the world around them. I felt that this book basically said everything that a parent should already know, and common sense situations where there is nothing to learn from the situation.

The book also told me that it is not my job to create a person that does good in the world. Again, what? Although I do understand that the author was talking about my child’s free will, and how it does not reflect back on my choices as a mom, this doesn’t mean that my child is just going to go do whatever the hell he wants because it’s not my responsibility.

Anywho, I really didn’t like this book and do not recommend it for anyone who wants to make good parenting choices for their child and themselves. I give this book 1 out of 5 stars, and I received it from Tyndale Blog Network in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

