I Liked My Life

51BkbfT39xL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

This is such a beautiful and inspirational story! I Liked My Life by Abby Fabiaschi starts off strong and ends with an even bigger bang. I feel that I am a better person after reading this gorgeous novel! Madeline has passed away, and although the family mourns her, they also wonder why she would have killed herself. Even her daughter Eve, and her husband Brady are left to struggle with the unanswered question of why she decided to die so soon. She lived a lovely life, she seemed to have it all, and no one really thought or knew that she had depression. Just, one day she decided to jump off the roof of the library and left her family’s life in shambles.

Told from multiple perspectives, Madeline from the afterlife, Eve from her despair, and Brady from his picking up the pieces, we see how perspective, grief and love can rearrange and redefine a family. Eve grows in surmountable ways, Madeline tries to intervene in the lives of the people that she left behind, and Brady realizes what’s really important in life. All lessons we can learn just from delving into the pages of this book.

I really enjoyed the characters in this book, we got to see them all intimately, but also through the eyes of others, and the way the dynamic changed between the characters through out the book was real, and so fascinating. We got to see how Eve realized that she wasn’t the best daughter when her mother was alive, and we got to see how Brady realized he wasn’t the most reliable father and husband while Madeline was still alive.

This is a gorgeous portrait of family, bonding, strength, and uniting over tragedy. It gave me a lot to think about, and I believe it will do the same for you. There hasn’t been a book in quite some time that has stuck with me the way this one has, and I want to share it with the world! I give this book 5 out of 5 stars, so luscious and rich with detail but also the story and characters will fixate you until the very end. I received this book from Netgalley.

Leave a Reply

