What I read January 2017

I read a total of 5 books in January, which is not as much as I usually read, but it’s a start! I wanted to take this new year and create a reading environment where I wasn’t pushed to read a bunch of books a month, and only reading books that I thoroughly enjoyed. So, with that being said, here are the books I read in January:

18143777.jpg

Happily Ever After by Elizabeth Maxwell

This book is about a woman who is a romance and erotic writer, who happens to stumble across one of her characters in the middle of Target of all places. When she realizes that something has gone amok in one of her books, she has to figure out how to get her characters back into the world that they belong. This wasn’t a bad book, but it got kind of slow and hokey toward the middle. It was a fun read if you are looking for something light and quick. This book gets 3 out of 5 stars from me.

3478.jpg

Message in a Bottle by Nicholas Sparks

All of you should know by now that I am a huge fan of Nicholas Sparks, and I actually plan on reading all of his books this year (there are still a couple I haven’t picked up), Message in a Bottle is a book that’s pretty old, but still grabs you right in the feels. When Theresa finds a message in a bottle washed up on a beach, she can’t believe the raw emotions that she reads in the letter. When she posts the letter in the newspaper, the response is overwhelming. To the point that she decides to locate the man who wrote the letter. When Theresa and Garrett meet, the sparks fly, except Garrett has no idea that Theresa was in search of him, and he doesn’t know that Theresa already knows so much about him and his past. When he finds out about her betrayal, things go south and their relationship could end forever. This book was honestly so heart wrenching and thoughtful, I loved it. I give it 5 out of 5 stars, a classic Nicholas Sparks book where the characters are making love by page 150 lol.

salemfalls

Salem Falls by Jodi Picoult

Jodi Picoult is another one of my favorite authors, and I actually am planning on reading all of her books this year as well. This book was one that I had on my shelf for some time, but I never picked it up because I thought it was a little bit out there. Jack St. Bride moves to a small town to try and outrun his past, but when the local girls (a witches coven) decides that they want to cast a spell on him, and so much more, Jack finds himself in the same hot water he was trying to escape. This isn’t one of the best Picoult books, but one you should definitely put on your radar. I enjoy her books with more court action, and less “magic” but this one was fun. I give this book 4 out of 5 stars.

ceeceewilkes

The Secret Life of CeeCee Wilkes by Diane Chamberlain

Yet another one of my favorite authors. I read this book because I needed something that I knew was going to wrap me around it’s finger. This one took me so long to read, but that’s because I started it before I went into the hospital to have my daughter, and didn’t get a chance to finish it until about a week after we came home. It was such a good book, though , and one I couldn’t put down every chance I got to crack the spine. CeeCee was a normal 16 year old until she got entangled with the wrong people. When she accidentally witnesses the death of a pregnant woman, she decides to do the unthinkable she takes her baby and runs for the hills-pretending that baby is her own. 20 years later, that baby is now grown, and the man charged of her mothers murder is about to be indicted, that is until CeeCee has a change of heart. This is definitely a book you want to add to your TBR pile. It has mystery, intrigue and a little bit of Bonnie and Clyde. This book gets 5 out of 5 stars from me.

51cFB-gIUpL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Your Perfect Life by Liz Fenton and Lisa Steinke

This was the first book I read in the new year, I needed something short, sweet and light hearted to put me back into the reading game after I had been in a slump for so long. I thoroughly enjoyed this one, it has a dash of magic, which is something that I needed to read. When two long time friends go to a class reunion, they never realize that they are going to leave the place in each other’s bodies. One is a stay at home mom, the other works in Hollywood. When they get a taste of each other’s lives, they realize that maybe they were taking their own for granted. Think Freaky Friday with this read, so much fun! I give this book 5 out of 5 stars as well.

3 thoughts on “What I read January 2017

  1. I agree with Inge. I, too, love the cover for Happily Ever After. I own Message in a Bottle – just got it in a book sale place (Emmaus) and now that I’ve read your review of it, I will be starting it tonight!

    Like

Leave a Reply

