The Hot One

the-hot-one-9781451625813_hr

It has been quite some time since I read a memoir, so when I saw the cover to The Hot One by Carolyn Murnick, I was slightly intrigued. Though I have never heard of Carolyn, or her friend Ashley, the seven words at the top of the cover pulled me in. A memoir of friendship, sex and murder. Those are a few of my favorite things to read about, haha, so I was ultimately excited to read this book.

The beginning of the book was great, we got to learn about Ashley as a child, and abruptly we learn that she was killed during her college years while Carolyn was miles and miles away. Through out the chapters, their friendship is uncovered, as well as their drifting apart, as friends do.

The way that Carolyn wrote this book, though, made it hard to follow-plus it ended up being a lot about how Carolyn grew up, as opposed to how Ashley grew up-and their significant differences (meaning Ashley was more of a partier/”slut” while Carolyn was not), and that sort of turned me off a bit from the book.

I was really interested in how Ashley was murdered, and what happened to the suspect after he was caught, so basically the first half of the book was pointless to me. I would have much rather known more about Ashley at the time of her death rather than Carolyn when she was younger. I understand that the backstory needed to be set up, but it still didn’t tickle my fancy much.

All in all, these was an okay book for me. Not one I would really recommend if you are looking for a true crime book, but if you are interested in memoirs that spend a lot of time on the backstory than this one is for you. I give this book 3 out of 5 stars, and I received it from Netgalley.

Leave a Reply

