Long Days of Small Things

51dfjvUVcIL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Find solace and spirituality between carpooling and cleaning up messes that you didn’t create. In Catherine Mcniel’s book Long Days of Small Things, we find ways to take motherhood and all it’s craziness and turn it into moments of hope, joy, and finding God.

This book was phenomenal, to sum it up. I just had a baby in January, and I also have a three year old, which means that my house is messy, my hair is crazy, the laundry is piling up, and I haven’t had a good night’s sleep in a long time. Basically, my life is hectic and I rarely get time to do anything for myself or by myself. In this book, I found ways to connect with my spiritual side while still doing all of the things that I have to do during the day. For example, Catherine explains that stopping to breathe while doing the dishes, or folding the laundry can be therapeutic. Or just picking up a soft blanket and really thinking about the fabric, how that can calm your mind throughout the chaos.

This book gave me ideas about how to relax, and really soak in the moments. Sometimes we take for granted the little bits of life that are happening around us at all times. Like nursing my sweet baby girl,  sometimes it can seem like a chore and this book explores the idea that we should really foster a connection between those moments and ourselves, and that’s where we find God. We must be present in the moment and those little tiny things we never noticed before can be a soul searching practice, it all depends on how we perceive it.

There is something in this book for everyone, it will give you guidance about being how being a mother doesn’t mean that you have to give up every other part of your life, but that being a mother enriches your existence, and that our motherly duties can sustain our soul and body.

I just want to give Catherine a hug, she gets it. She knows how hard it is to even go to the bathroom alone when you are a mom, since she has three kids of her own. This book is just pure gold, and I cannot wait for every mom and even dad to read it. I give this book 5 out of 5 stars, it really made me think, especially about all the little things my kids do and need, and how one day those things won’t be as abundant as they are today. I received this book from Tyndale Blog Network.

Leave a Reply

