Tell Me How This Ends Well

9780451496881.jpeg

I know we are not supposed to judge a book by it’s cover, but with this colorful, cartoonish design, I thought that Tell Me How This Ends Well by David Samuel Levinson would be a lighthearted, funny, story about a dysfunctional family. Instead, it was a pretentious, pseudo-dystopian, barely funny story about a few whiney siblings who want to kill their father before their mother dies.

I wanted this book to be good, I was begging for it to be good, I went in with a smile, and came out with a frown. The first “chapter” (more like scene) was so hard to get through. The characters were in an Ihop, and I felt like I was swimming through molasses to get to the point. The scene was pointless, the descriptions drawn out, and I lost interest before anything good even happened there.

This book takes place in the year 2022, when Jewish people are being treated terribly, and they are basically being persecuted all over the world. There are no chapters to be found in this book, just sections of each siblings narrative, and the mother, Roz, who is dying through out the novel. I didn’t enjoy any of the characters in this book, and actually thought Jacob sounded more like a teenager than a 38 year old man.

All in all, this was a miss for me. Unfortunately, too, because I had big hopes for this one! I received this from Blogging for Books, which is one of my favorite sites for ARC books. I really don’t know what else to say about this failure of a story, but that the cover is really amazing still. I give this book 1 out of 5 stars.

3 thoughts on “Tell Me How This Ends Well

  1. I tend to enjoy dark comedies like this book and almost bought it. I am glad that you wrote your first impressions. It is too bad that it was under-developed and the execution off. Although I enjoyed Johnathen Tropper’s “Plan B” it was a little forced and also some of the elements were too similar to his other novel, “This is Where I Leave You” which was way better. I felt like asking, “Why do both books have a main character that is suffering from a bad divorce?” I wanted to shake the author and say “Please don’t write a 3rd book with a divorced guy in it whining about his old relationship!” Anyway, I enjoyed your perspective and review of Levinson’s book!

    Like

  2. Sad that it’s disappointing. Like you mention, the cover seems to promise quirky humor. Do you think you would have liked it better if you had known going in that it was on the darker side?

    Like

Leave a Reply

