How To Write A Book Request Email

Hi guys! I hope that you have checked out my Best Ways to Get ARC Books-2017 blog post, as well as my Publicity Contacts for Publishers-Master List, and if you did, thank you first of all! Secondly, would you like to learn how to write a request email? I know that may sound silly, but sometimes new book bloggers and book reviewers aren’t quite sure how to put their toes in the water. From my experience, the more thorough, and kind, you are in the email, the more likely your request is going to get accepted.

Now, I am not an expert, and you may have better suggestions of what to write in an email, so please feel free to share! This is just what I typically do, and I often times get great responses.

Hello (Either write the publicity contacts name, the authors name, or whomever it is that you are writing to, make sure that you have the correct name, and if you don’t, just leave it blank).

I hope that you are doing well today, my name is Kerrie and I run the blog Comfy Reading at http://www.comfyreading.wordpress.com. (Obviously you are going to use your own information here, unless you really want them to send the books to me). I recently saw that the book (Book Title) by (Book Author) was coming out in (Month) and I thought it sounded very interesting (or) and (Book Author) is one of my favorites! (Really any variation of your interest in the book). I was wondering if you would be willing to send a copy of the book to me, in exchange for an honest review on my blog as well as on Amazon and Goodreads. If so, please see my address listed below. If you need anything else from me, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Address:

(Add your address)

Thank you so much,

(Your name)

 

You can also add in your analytics from your blog, for example how many visits you get a month, how many followers you have, and even how many followers you have on Twitter, Facebook, or Instagram. You can also talk about the most recent books that you have reviewed, as well as other information about your blog-like if you have more than one writer, what genres you are interested in, and so on. I like to keep it simple, for the fact that I almost guarantee the people working at publishing houses see these emails thousands of times a day, and after a while, they probably get tired of reading all the numbers and extra information.

That’s just me, though, you add whatever you want! Just make sure you are polite, respectful, and do not hound the people if you don’t get a reply. Sometimes they will send the book with out ever replying to your email, it’s like a surprise!

Happy requesting :).

 

4 thoughts on “How To Write A Book Request Email

Leave a Reply

