A Gripping Psychological Thriller with a Shocking Twist

If you have been following my blog for a while, or you have read my tweets, checked out my Facebook or Instagram-then you know that I am a die hard psychological thriller fan. I absolutely love a good, juicy, twisty book! I’m a pretty good sleuth when it comes to these types of books as well, I can usually spot the twist before it comes-and if I can’t then I AM A HUGE FAN OF THE BOOK. But, really that’s not the point of my post today.

My post today is about this over used phrase “A Gripping Psychological Thriller with a Shocking Twist” or a similar variation to that phrase. It’s almost as common, maybe even more common than “If you like Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl or Paula Hawkin’s The Girl on the Train then you will love…” or “The Next Gone Girl“, “The Next The Girl on the Train“.

I have noticed this phrase on several book covers of books I have read, and I have noticed this as a marketing ploy for books on Amazon. All I did was type in the phrase in Google, and here I have 10 or 11 books with that phrase either on the cover, or in the little description box. Some are even from the same author! A lot are from the same publishing company (which I am assuming has quite a bit to do with it).

It’s just one of those things that really irks me. I get it, you have a crazy good book that you want people to read because there is something in it, probably toward the end, that is going to make me GASP out loud. Do you really have to say the same thing that every other book of your kind has said?

Now, mind you I have read some of these books and I actually did enjoy them. Now I feel like every time I see this little phrase it’s going to make me not want to read the book. It’s a great way to describe a thriller, but damn it’s overused!

What is something that book publishers or marketing companies do that drives you crazy like this?

Screen Shot 2017-05-24 at 2.20.53 PMScreen Shot 2017-05-24 at 2.21.35 PMScreen Shot 2017-05-24 at 2.21.53 PMScreen Shot 2017-05-24 at 2.20.31 PM

Screen Shot 2017-05-24 at 2.24.22 PM.png


A couple of variations on the same idea:

Screen Shot 2017-05-24 at 2.24.05 PMScreen Shot 2017-05-24 at 2.24.40 PMScreen Shot 2017-05-24 at 2.24.56 PMScreen Shot 2017-05-24 at 2.25.12 PMScreen Shot 2017-05-24 at 2.25.37 PM

7 thoughts on “A Gripping Psychological Thriller with a Shocking Twist

  1. Those descriptions kind of crack me up. It’s like click-bait, but for a book.
    I usually figure, if you’re “the next” of something, then you probably aren’t original enough to be all that great.
    But, if somebody has found a “the next” that they really loved, I’d be curious to hear about it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

