Dark Saturday

51iDba5PwOL._SX330_BO1,204,203,200_

Dark Saturday by Nicci French is a spooky novel that will leave you with an icky film on your skin from the very beginning. Psychoanalyst Frieda Klein is summoned, in a very inconspicuously and some what odd way, to meet with a girl who killed her entire family a decade ago. What Frieda realizes about Hannah, is that she may not be just a murderer but a victim herself.

Hannah wants to keep her secrets, and so she hasn’t uttered much more than nonsense for the past 10 years. When Frieda tries to understand her, it takes more than a couple of friendly conversations to try and pull apart the motives behind the murder. What Frieda soon realizes is that there are certain lengths that Hannah will go to to keep her secret, and that includes murdering again.

For all intents and purposes, this sounds like a book that is something I would dive into full force. I found the story hard to follow, and after the first couple of chapters I lost interest. I really wanted to get into the story because these types of books are my bread and butter. Unfortunately this one just left me confused. The story took it’s time, and maybe that’s where it lost me. I have never read a book by this author before, while her writing is very good-pure and entertaining-the actual plot gave me the feeling that I was missing something, something major. I give this book 2 out of 5 stars, just not for me.

One thought on “Dark Saturday

Leave a Reply

