It’s Messy

x160.png

It’s Messy essays on Boys, Boobs, and Badass Women by Amanda de Cadenet is funny, snarky, surprisingly intimate. Amanda was a television host at the age of 16, after a stint in juvie and running away from home. When the fame got to be too much, she headed to LA in California to live a “normal” life. Even though it seemed more “normal” than her life in London, it wasn’t exactly what we would consider a quiet and conservative lifestyle.

Amanda talks about so many different things in this book, from becoming a mom, to dating, as well as her passion of photography. I don’t know who Amanda is, I have never heard of her before I read this book, but she seems like a very cool chick and I would love to learn even more about her. Her stories are very funny, you can see how she has grown as a person, and they are also heartbreaking at times.

I wouldn’t necessarily say that Amanda is relatable, since she married a celebrity at the age of 19, and was living a life of privilege even before that, but she is interesting and strong. I enjoyed reading about her life experiences, especially because I probably won’t experience most of the things that she has gone through. This book was part autobiography, part diary, and a whole lot of girl power.

All in all, I enjoyed reading this book, though I am not familiar with the author. She seems like she has her act together, and she talks about a lot of things that I found interesting. I give this book 4 out of 5 stars, I don’t necessarily love the cover-especially from a photographer-but it’s simple and dainty, unlike Amanda herself.

One thought on “It’s Messy

Leave a Reply

